A Dialog With FURminator


Dear Reader:

I offer these emails without further comment on the nature of the failures of American commerce so that my readers can come to their own conclusion. Carole


Dear FURminator:

I received the FURminator Large Yellow Tool as a gift a year ago and it is amazing. I love it my German shepherd loves it, most of all my vacuum really appreciates it. Yesterday, while using the tool, the plastic handle broke! We are devastated.

I would like to purchase a new handle since the blade is in perfect condition; I take good care of my tools. I’ve looked all over the Internet for a replacement handle and cannot find one. Do you sell them? And if so, how may I order one? Please help me as this is prime shedding season and my house is awash in fur.

Carole

Dear Carole,

Thank you for contacting FURminator.  Unfortunately, FURminator Inc. does not have replacement handles available.  If you would like to purchase a new deShedding tool, you may find where to purchase one by following these easy steps:

  • Visit www.FURminator.com

  • Click on the tab labeled “Where to Buy”

  • Click on the link where you would like to purchase products:

o    Find a Retail Store*

o    Find a Website

o    Find a Catalog

o    Find a Veterinarian*

o    Find a Rescue or Non-Profit*

*Enter the city and state in which you live or your zip code to find the nearest retailer.

You may also contact your local PetSmart or PetCo.

I am sorry that I could not have been more of an assistance.  I hope this information was helpful.  Thanks and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Gina Huck

FURminator Inc.

Office: 636-680-9387

Fax: 636-680-9392

www.FURminator.com

Gina:

Thank you for your quick response. It is a pity there are no replacement handles made available by FURminator. The tool works well, but if the handle is flimsy and cannot support the blade, it is useless and definitely not worth the fifty dollars paid last year.

After a quick look at dog owner forums on the Internet  I could see many complaints about handles that broke easily.

It is only a matter of time before disgruntled owners spread the word about the futility of buying an expensive throw away tool and FURminator’s sales will suffer.

Providing replacement handles for sale (or even better for free) would have been an effective public relations assist with what is obviously a design flaw in the tool.

Now when I groom the German shepherd at the popular Masterson Station Dog Park and other owners stop to inquire, I will need to tell them about my very poor experience with the FURminator product.

Sincerely,

Carole

Leave a Reply

