A Human Thermometer


It has been almost two months since the ladies at the YMCA decided I am colored. In truth I have enjoyed their company so much that each day it has become more and more difficult to admit to them that I am white.

Lately, my African American friends have discovered that I can be a useful addition to their group. One afternoon after class several of us decided to soak away our cares in the hot tub.  After a short while, one of the ladies made a startling announcement.

“OK, girls, Carole has just turned pink!”

The ladies giggled and proceeded to climb out of the tub without further comment.

“What’s going on?” I asked.

“When your skin turns pink, we know it is time to get out of the tub.”

Then it dawned on me; I am a human thermometer!

Last week the group discovered  that I work just well as a thermometer in the steam room.

Leave a Reply

