Hello world!


I am a people watcher; human behavior fascinates me. I guess I should have studied psychology, but then I would never have met the hundreds of students I have taught. I love to teach; it is one of the things I do best. I am retired now, yet I get to sub from time to time.

Hello!

In addition I am a writer; creating the characters to populate the stories I write is a passion.  About ten years ago I was lucky enough to sell my first novel, Sleep of the Innocents; so, I may correctly describe myself as a published author.

One thing I don’t do well is play golf, but I love the game just the same. I suppose I shall always be cursed for being good enough to play with, yet easy enough to beat. I say I’m getting better all the time, but it is more wishful thinking than true.

Reading for pleasure and learning new things keep me young.  Lastly, I am easy going—at least I think I am. Life is too short to worry about unimportant things, and in the grand scheme of things most of the things we fret over are not worth the time we give them.

My biggest flaws? Well, now that I have reached a certain age, I am impatient at times and a wee bit judgmental. I have quite a long road to travel before I am “perfect.” But for now I enjoy just being human.

8 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Carole,

    I really enjoyed your first entries! Very professionally written. What fun, now you can see your work published immediately, instead of waiting for a publisher’s approval.

    I laughed after reading your comment on dogs not smiling – then seeing Dixie’s laughing mug right below! Somehow, I pictured the title of your blog as something like “It’s a dog’s life,” because so many of our conversations recently have involved your adventures at the dog park. On the other hand, this IS the Kentucky phase of your life.

    I just discovered that when writing a comment, you can’t refer back to what was written, or your comment disappears and you have to re-write. Bummer.

    Looking forward to your future posts!

    Kaye

  2. Hi Carole,

    I loved your blog! I know you’re a really good writer since I read your book! You’ve got to finish the story about Dixie. What turned her around?

    I’d love to hear stories about Poppi and Mama.
    Mom never really talks about them.

    Perhaps you should start another book; start with Poppi and Mama and make sure you include Mom’s story as well. 🙂

    KEEP WRITING
    Gari

  3. Thanks, Gari! I do hope to get all the stories down on paper; it is one of the reasons for this blog. I’m also working on Dixie’s story, including our adventures at the dog park! Thank goodness for the digital camera; I’ll be putting it to good use.

  4. Thanks! At the time the experience was not too wonderful. Adoption is a wonderful way to find a pet, but you need patience and understanding. I did not know that then. Dixie and I are best friends now.

Leave a Reply

